2017 Student Honorees

Rhodes Scholars

The Rhodes Scholarships are the oldest and most celebrated international fellowship awards in the world. Each year 32 young students from the United States are selected as Rhodes Scholars, through a decentralized process representing the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories. Rhodes Scholars are chosen not only for their outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to others and to the common good, and for their potential for leadership in whatever domains their careers may lead.

Oscar De Los Santos

Jung Kian Ng

Schwarzman Scholars

One of the most selective postgraduate programs in the world, Schwarzman Scholars receive a fully funded scholarship to study at the new Schwarzman College of Tsinghua University in Beijing. The Schwarzman Scholars program is designed to prepare its graduates to build stronger relationships between China and a rapidly changing world and to address the most pressing challenges of the 21st Century.

Jack Huebner

Matthew Prusak

Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellowship

The Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellowship honors doctoral candidates committed to a future of outstanding teaching and research, while embracing diversity as a resource for enriching the education of all students. A coveted distinction, this fellowship is awarded to just 35 recipients each year.

Stephanie Canizales

Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship

The Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship supports outstanding graduate students in the humanities and social sciences in finishing the final year of work on their Ph.D. dissertations. This highly competitive program is funded by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and recognizes only 65 scholars annually.

Thomas Sapsford

Emma Josephine Bradley Bovard Award

Founded and sponsored by the Faculty Women’s Club of the University of Southern California. Awarded to the graduating students who have attained the highest scholarship average of all undergraduate women at the university.

Samantha Cioppa

Christina Deirmenjian

Jennifer Frazin

Elizabeth Kanovsky

Rachel Levine

Erin Mills

Cooper Nelson

Madeleine Sampson

Shayna Sharim

Richelle Smith

University Trustees Award

Awarded to the graduating students who have attained the highest scholarship average of all undergraduate men at the university.

Jordan Kondo

USC Provost’s Award

Awarded to the graduating students who have attained the highest scholarship average of all undergraduate transfer students at the university.

Tae Hyup Ha

Marisa Inada

Jungwon Min

Camille Patrao

Joseph Uhm

Christian Wagner

Phi Kappa Phi Student Recognition Awards

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the oldest interdisciplinary honor society at USC. It recognizes scholarship and awards prizes annually to graduate and undergraduate students for creative and scholarly achievements.

Max Kapur

Jotheeswari Kothandaraman

Brian Pak Yan Leung

Darshana Mini

Phi Beta Kappa Undergraduate Awards

Devoted to liberal learning in arts and sciences, Phi Beta Kappa, founded in 1776, presents two undergraduate awards to honor creativity, scholarship, and leadership in faculty-student community relations.

Jordan Kondo

David Velasquez

Rockwell Dennis Hunt Award

Awarded to an alumna or alumnus of USC who is pursuing a graduate or professional degree at the university and who is most representative of the Trojan Family’s traditions and values.

Yingfei (Fiona) Wang

University Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Awarded to three graduate teaching assistants – from diverse areas such as the natural sciences and engineering, the social sciences, and the humanities and arts – who have exhibited consistent excellence in the classroom and thus symbolize the university’s dedication to the education of scholar-teachers.

Jenna K. Ross

Saurov Syed

Kamia Smith